I’ve been pondering this question, because I realise that my partner can be very different, depending on who he’s with. I know I used to be, before recovery and before God. But what about now? How do I know I’m being my true self?

I’m reading a book by Leanne Payne, ‘The healing presence; healing in your broken places, living in God’s love’. I’ve not got that far but she talks a lot about false selves; the self that tries to please others rather than be true to ourselves and to God. She talks about the presence of God being the healer. I certainly believe this. I’m still negotiating the way though, still stumbling along as I aim to be true to myself and surrendered to God’s love. Now that I have more distance in the relationship, I’m feeling more connected to God, perhaps because there is less self-protection needed.